Skip to content

The DRIVE Act Needs Additional House and Senate Support!

fish truck

The DRIVE Act Needs Additional House and Senate Support!


Congressman Josh Brecheen (R-OK) and 24 House co-sponsors introduced H.R. 3039, Deregulating Restrictions on Interstate Vehicles and Eighteen-Wheelers (DRIVE) Act, which would prohibit the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) from implementing any rule or regulation requiring vehicles over 26,000 pounds that are engaged in interstate commerce to be equipped with a speed limiting device set to a maximum speed.

The rule would negatively impact both the agricultural and trucking industries and include vehicles like semi-trucks, livestock trailer/truck combos, grain trucks, and other large commercial vehicles. In fact, one study found that the “The frequency of interactions by a vehicle traveling 10-miles per hour below the posted speed limit was found to be 227% higher than a vehicle moving at traffic speed.”

House co-sponsors include: Representatives Kelly Armstrong (R-ND), Andy Biggs (R-AZ), Brian Babin (R-TX), Lauren Boebert (R-CO), Mike Bost (R-IL), Eric Burlison (R-MO), Michael Cloud (R-TX), Eli Crane (R-AZ), Mark Green (R-TN), Paul Gosar (R-AZ), Harriet Hageman (At-Large-WY), Clay Higgins (R-LA), Brian Mast (R-FL), Michael McCaul (R-TX), John Moolenaar (R-MI), Nathaniel Moran (R-TX), roy Nehis (R-TX), Andy Ogles (R-TN), Scott Perry (R-PA), Matt Rosendale (R-MT), Chip Roy (R-TX), Pete Sessions (R-TX), Gregory Steube (R-FL), Derrick Van Orden (R-WI), and Randy Weber (R-TX).

This week Senator Steve Daines (R-MT) introduced companion legislation, S. 2671 Deregulating Restrictions on Interstate Vehicles and Eighteen-Wheelers (DRIVE) Act. Senator Daines was joined by co-sponsoring Senators Kevin Cramer (R-ND), Mike Lee (R-UT), Roger Marshall (R-KS), Mike Rounds (R-SD), John Thune (R-SD), and Roger Wicker (R-MS).

The National Aquaculture Association recommends members reach out to their House member and Senators to ask that they co-sponsor the DRIVE Act.  A House member wishing to co-sponsor HR 3039 can direct their staff to contact Sean McAndrews. Senators wishing to co-sponsor S. 2671 can direct their staff to contact: Matt Lloyd, Rachel Dumke, or Blake Kernen.

Additional Info

Related Links :

Powered By GrowthZone
Scroll To Top